Technical Committee

The IWJV Technical Committee serves as an advisory group to the IWJV and its science staff. Its primary role is to assist the IWJV in developing strategies that advance the integrity and biological foundation of IWJV bird conservation planning efforts. For example, by identifying key assumptions and evaluation needs in regional bird conservation plans, the technical committee helps JV partners address critical information needs and provides guidance that supports development of reasonable population and habitat objectives.

The Technical Committee is comprised of habitat-management oriented scientists and biologists with expertise in migratory bird science and conservation. The committee includes individuals from universities, federal agencies, state fish and wildlife agencies, and non-governmental organizations.

IWJV Technical Committee

Ken McDonald (Committee Chair)
Wildlife Bureau Chief
Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks

Brad Andres
National Shorebird Coordinator
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Bruce Dugger
Professor, Department of Fisheries and Wildlife
Oregon State University

Jim Gammonley
Program Leader, Avian Research
Colorado Parks and Wildlife

Geoff Geupel
Director, Emerging Programs and Partnerships
Point Blue Conservation Science

Thad Heater
Sage Grouse Initiative Coordinator
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

Jeff Knetter
Staff Biologist, Upland Game and Waterfowl
Idaho Department of Fish and Game

Dave Naugle
Professor, The University of Montana
Science Advisor to USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service Sage Grouse Initiative

Greg Neudecker
State Coordinator, Montana Partners for Fish and Wildlife Program
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Dave Olson
Migratory Game Bird Specialist, Mountain-Prairie Region
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Mark Petrie
Director of Conservation Planning
Ducks Unlimited, Inc.