Conservation Leadership Awards

We are proud to recognize and support conservation leaders in the Intermountain West. On an annual basis, we invite nominations for the Conservation Partner Award and the John E. Nagel Award.

John E. Nagel Award

The John E. Nagel Award was established in 2000 and named in honor of the IWJV’s first Management Board Chairman. The award is presented to an individual who exemplifies the spirit of the IWJV and efforts to conserve habitat through building public and private partnerships. Criteria for this award include:
  1. A significant contribution to the mission of the Joint Venture, based on the degree of commitment (e.g., time or effort on a Joint Venture project) or importance of the contribution (e.g., value to the avian resource, acres or value of habitat protected, restored or enhanced);
  2. Long-term commitment to the conservation of birds and their habitats, and the stewardship thereof;
  3. Outstanding achievements on behalf of those resources, as well as in the field of fish and wildlife management; 
  4. A vision for the future conservation of those resources and an ability to affect change toward that vision; 

Conservation Partner Award

This award is presented to an agency, organization, corporation or a collaborative effort that has made outstanding contributions to an IWJV-sponsored project or initiative, and has played an instrumental role in advancing strategic, landscape-scale habitat conservation. It recognizes exemplary achievements in building and strengthening conservation partnerships.


Past John E. Nagel Award Winners
  • 2000 - John E. Nagel
  • 2001 - Teton Valley Regional Land Trust
  • 2002 - Western Regional Office, Ducks Unlimited, Inc.
  • 2003 - Alex Chappell
  • 2004 - Eldridge “Red” Hunt
  • 2005 - Jim Cole
  • 2008 - Don Paul
  • 2009 - Larry L. Kruckenberg
  • 2010 - Bob Turner
  • 2011 - Clen Atchley & Mark Biddlecomb
  • 2012 - No award recipient
  • 2013 - Randy Gray
  • 2014 - Brad Bortner
  • 2015 - Bruce Taylor
  • 2016 - Carey Farmer

Past Conservation Partner Award Winners

Call for Nominations

The 2016 Awards Call for Nominations is now open. Please consider nominating a deserving individual for this year's awards here. The deadline for nominations is August 1, 2016.